Custom House Studios and Gallery The Custom House Studios The Quay, Westport, Co. Mayo, Ireland T +353 (0)98 28735 Gallery opening hours Mon-Fri, 10.00 - 17.00 Sat / Sun / Bank Holidays 13.00 - 16.30 Location Map >>

The Irish American Cultural Institute’s
O'Malley Collection

of 20th C Art at the
University of Limerick

Custom House Studios are pleased to host an exhibition of a selection of works from The Irish American Cultural Institute’s O’Malley Collection of   20th – Century  Art  at the  University of Limerick. The exhibition was formally opened by   Pearce O’Malley, Chief of the O’Malley Clan Thursday November 2nd    and runs every day until November 28th   2017    at Custom House Studios  Westport  The Quay, Co  Mayo.


In 1938 Irish Republican Ernie O’Malley returned to his childhood home of Mayo with his American wife, artist Helen Hooker. They made their home at Burrishoole Lodge, near Newport on the northern shore of Clew Bay. The couple began to collect art works and build a collection of modern Irish, European  and American Art, as well as photographs and objects. They also  set out examining life in rural Ireland and  compiled an extensive collection of photographs of examples of Irish sculpture, as well the people in Mayo, capturing their way of life and the environment that surrounded them.


This collection is now owned by The Irish American Cultural Institute, and is on loan to the University of Limerick.  We are pleased to host a selection of the collection including paintings, drawings, prints and sculptural objects. Exhibition includes works by Irish artists, Evie Hone, Paul Henry, Patrick Hennessy, Anne Yeats, , Cecil Salkeld Ffrench,   Mainie Jellett, Louis Le Brocquy, Sean O'Sullivan,  Robert, Burke, Michael O' Sullivan. American painters including works by Dorothy Brett, Chauncey Ryder, Rockwell Kent, Mahroni Young, Mark, Tobey, and Europeans Elizabeth Rivers,  Amedo Modigliani, Aristide Maillol, Georges Rouault  and Pierre  Boujet.      Exhibition runs every day until November 28th   2017.  Admission free.